Post-Secondary Education

Post-Secondary Educational Institutions

The University System of Ohio is one of the largest comprehensive public systems of higher education in the nation. Ohio’s public colleges, universities, and adult education programs serve almost 600,000 students and offer every option from a GED to a Ph.D., ensuring that all Ohioans have easy access to a high-quality, affordable higher education. The system includes:

  • 14 universities with 24 regional branch campuses
  • 23 community colleges
  • Over 120 adult workforce education and training centers statewide

Key public higher educational institutions located in the Southern Ohio region include:

Shawnee State University Logo
Shawnee State University, located in Portsmouth, Ohio

  • Undergraduate enrollment of 4,400


    Shawnee State University Building

  • Published in-district and in-state tuition at $7,365
  • Offers Associates, Bachelor’s, and Master’s degrees and certificates of one but less than two years


Ohio University- Chillicothe logo
Ohio University – Chillicothe, located in Chillicothe, Ohio

  • The oldest of five regional campuses of Ohio University
  • Undergraduate enrollment of 2,400
  • Published in-district and in-state tuition of $4,994
  • Offers Associates, Bachelor’s, and Master’s degrees


Pickaway Ross Career & Technology Center, located in Chillicothe, Ohio

  • A vocational-technical school serving Ross and Pickaway Counties

    Technical student worker

    Pickaway Ross technical student worker

  • Offers 20 tech-prep programs to students from 10 high schools
  • In addition to its main campus, also has off-campus (or satellite) programs housed in affiliated high schools
  • Total enrollment of 2,800
  • Pickaway-Ross also has an Adult Education Division, providing programs in skilled trades, public safety, medical services fields, and others.



Ohio University – Southern, located in Proctorville, Ohio

  • A regional campus of Ohio University
  • Students can earn an Ohio University Associate, Bachelor’s and Master’s degree locally at our Ironton or Proctorville locations.
  • Programs include an Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, Executive Series Business Management, and Bachelor of Technical Applied Studies
  • Located adjacent to the Southern Ohio region, but accepting students from throughout Ohio



University of Rio Grande logo
The University of Rio Grande and Rio Grande Community College, located in Rio Grande, Ohio, just east of the Southern Ohio region

  • Offers career programs, associate degrees, transfer programs, and continuing education programs.


    University of Rio Grande campus

  • Through a contract between Rio Grande Community College and the University of Rio Grande, Ohio residents in their first two years of college can take advantage of public community college tuition rates to earn associate degrees in arts or career education.
  • Students also have the option of continuing seamlessly toward a baccalaureate degree at the University of Rio Grande or transferring to another institution to complete a four-year degree.
"We found highly qualified, skilled workers right out of the gate."